Main menu

Pilot Funding

The School of Social Work Pilot Grant program seeks strong scientific proposals from U-M School of Social Work faculty of all ranks, including U-M SSW postdoctoral fellows. We especially encourage junior faculty to apply. Please remember that the Research Office administers over a research consultation program that provides feedback to investigators on projects at every stage in the research process.

Awards are given to strong scientific proposals that identify a need for preliminary data that will lead to the submission of larger, external grant proposals. Proposals are accepted on an ongoing, first-come first-served basis from July 1- June 30. During this time, we are able to fund up to three pilot projects per year. We encourage investigators to seek matches with UMOR, MICHR or MCubed. The upper limit amount awarded to any pilot project is $15,000. The principal investigator must be a U-M SSW faculty member.

Application Instructions »

Apply for a pilot grant »

Pilot Grant Review Team

Paula Allen-Meares

Chancellor Emerita, John Corbally Presidential Professor, Executive Director, Office of Health Literacy, Prevention, and Community Engagement
pameares@umich.edu

Deborah Bybee

Professor
Michigan State University
bybee@msu.edu

Jorge Delva

Kristine A. Siefert Collegiate Professor of Social Work and Associate Dean, School of Social Work
jdelva@umich.edu

Andrew C. Grogan-Kaylor

Associate Professor of Social Work
agrogan@umich.edu

Joseph A. Himle

Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Work, Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work, and Professor of Psychiatry, Medical School
himlej@umich.edu

Matthew Howard

Frank A. Daniels Distinguished Professor for Human Services Policy Information
University of North Carolina
mohoward@email.unc.edu

Jordana Muroff

Associate Professor
Boston University
jmuroff@bu.edu

Brian E. Perron

Associate Professor of Social Work
beperron@umich.edu

Kristine A. Siefert

Edith S. Gomberg Collegiate Professor Emerita of Social Work
ksiefert@umich.edu

Daphne C. Watkins

Associate Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Medical School and Faculty Associate, Research Center for Group Dynamics, Institute for Social Research
daphnew@umich.edu

Bradley J. Zebrack

Professor of Social Work and Director of Vivian A. and James L. Curtis School of Social Work Research and Training Center
zebrack@umich.edu

Contact Us Press escape to close