COVID-19 Information

Contact My SSW Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

The recipients of the 2019 Impact Awards

DEI Impact Awards

School of Social Work Award for Impact in Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

The School of Social Work’s Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion established the Award for Impact in Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Fall 2018 to recognize individuals or groups in the School of Social Work who have made significant contributions to advancing diversity, equity & inclusion in the School or in the community. This award is open to all current SSW students, faculty, staff, groups and student organizations, and may be awarded to up to three individuals or groups each Fall.

The call for nominations will be announced each fall semester. Please carefully consider the nomination criteria below and plan to nominate someone you believe to be a good fit. Self-nominations are welcome.

Some of the qualities and experiences we look for in award nominees:

  • Demonstrates a high level of commitment to diversity in service, teaching, scholarship, and advocacy
  • Participates in, creates, and publicizes programs or events that promote DEI
  • Facilitates opportunities to bring people in the School together across positionalities
  • Demonstrates the use of scholarly and/or creative work to enhance the success of students, faculty, and/or staff of diverse backgrounds
  • Displays commitment to valuing DEI above and beyond assigned job or academic responsibilities
  • Works to enhance understanding and improve climate in the SSW community
  • Leads efforts to increase diversity within the School or University
  • Serves as a mentor to students who have a commitment to diversity and social justice

Nominations are reviewed by the Promoting Action for Intersectional Social Justice (PRAXIS) Committee, which is comprised of students, faculty, and staff. Awardees are announced on the SSW website and will be recognized at an awards ceremony.

Fall 2019 Award Winners

Justin Hodge
Faculty 2019 Impact Award

Todd Huynh
Staff 2019 Impact Award

Dominique Crump. Not Pictured: Sharon AlmonteStudent
2019 Impact Award

Undoing Racism Work Group - Daicia Price, Richard Tolman, Lorraine Gutiérrez. Not Pictured: Lisa Fedina
Organization 2019 Impact Award

For questions, please contact the SSW Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at

Contact Us Press escape to close