Contact My SSW Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

School of Social Work News

  1. Ayesha Ghazi
    Students in Social Work 560 Lead a Semester-Long Project on Community Engagement in Ypsilanti Neighborhood

    Lecturer Ayesha Ghazi and the students in her Social Work 560 course immersed themselves in the Sugarbrook neighborhood for a semester to study engagement, policy and community organizing. The students led a number of activities and joined pre-existing neighborhood action teams to increase resident engagement. Ghazi says a number of studies have shown that participating in events where neighbors spend time with one another improves mental and physical health outcomes, as well as feelings of safety.  Their efforts were covered on WDIV and Concentrate.

    • December 5, 2019
    2019 Diversity Equity and Inclusion Impact Awards

    Michigan Social Work's Office of Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) celebrated and honored recipients of the DEI Impact Awards, recognizing individuals or groups in the School who have made significant contributions to advancing diversity, equity & inclusion in the School of Social Work and/or in the community. Lauren Davis, Assistant Director of SSW DEI Program, said about the awards: “While there is still much work to be done to advance the efforts of the DEI strategic plan, we wanted to take a moment to celebrate the incredible work that members of the SSW community have made to advance diversity, equity and inclusion, and to acknowledge the commitment and progress we have made as a School.”

    The recipients of the 2019 Impact Awards are, from left to right: Justin Hodge, Clinical Assistant Professor; Todd Huynh, Joint PhD Program Coordinator; Dominique Crump, MSW Student; and the Undoing Racism Work Group: Daicia Price, Clinical Assistant Professor; Richard Tolman, Professor of Social Work; Lorraine Gutiérrez, Director, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Program, and Professor of Social Work. Not pictured, but also award recipients: Sharon Almonte, MSW Student; and Undoing Racism Work Group member Lisa Fedina, Assistant Professor of Social Work.

    • November 25, 2019
  3. H. Luke  Shaefer
    Luke Shaefer Appointed Special Counselor to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

    Professor Luke Shaefer has been appointed special counselor to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services on anti-poverty and economic mobility initiatives. His role is advising and facilitating discussion on anti-poverty policy. 

  4. Beth A. Sherman
    Beth Sherman Develops Social Justice Standards for Michigan Department of Education

    Clinical Associate Professor Beth Sherman is a member of the Standards Development Committee for the Michigan Department of Education. She worked on new recommendations for school social workers. Her efforts have resulted in two new standards encompassing diversity, inclusion, human rights and social justice. “These standards build on the School of Social Work’s commitment to DEI. Teaching and researching in this environment have taught me to be a strong advocate for social justice and informed my work on this committee.”

  5. Justin D. Hodge
    Justin Hodge Elected to Congressional Research Institute for Social Work and Policy

    Clinical Assistant Professor Justin Hodge was elected to the board of directors for the Congressional Research Institute for Social Work and Policy (CRISP). CRISP is committed to expanding the participation of social workers in federal legislative and policy processes and acts as a bridge between social work researchers and federal policymakers.

    MSW Student Charles Williams II Discusses Elijah Cummings with New York Times

    Charles Williams II, MSW ‘20 and senior pastor of Detroit's Historic King Solomon Missionary Baptist Church, discusses with the New York Times how the black baptist church shaped Congressman Elijah E. Cummings' career.

    Joseph Himle and Todd Herrenkohl Named Fellows of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare

    Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Howard V. Brabson Collegiate Professor Joseph Himle and Marion Elizabeth Blue Professor of Children and Families Todd Herrenkohl were named fellows of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare. They will be inducted into the academy during a ceremony at the Society for Social Work and Research’s annual conference in January.  Fellow status is among the highest professional accolades bestowed to social work scholars; Michigan Social Work now has 11 academy members.

  8. William Elliott III
    William Elliott III Weighs in on the Student Debt Debate

    Professor William Elliott III weighs in on the student debt debate with Morning Consult. The ballooning U.S. student debt is more than two times what Americans owed a decade ago, and borrowers are delaying life milestones like home buying. “It’s not just about getting a degree; it’s also about what position you’re in when you get that degree,” said Elliott.

  9. H. Luke  Shaefer
    Luke Shaefer Contributes to Detroit Free Press Reporting on Poverty in Rural Michigan

    Luke Shaefer, professor, and director of the University of Michigan Poverty Center talks with the Detroit Free Press about poverty in rural Michigan. "Coming up with money to pay utilities is a matter of having money. Having money means a job — and not just any job, but a decent paying one," said Shaefer.

    2019 Council on Social Work Education Annual Program Meeting

    • October 9, 2019

Contact Us Press escape to close