Contact My SSW Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

  1. Garrett PaceAndrew C. Grogan-KaylorShawna J. Lee
    Study Finds Spanking in Developing Countries Does More Harm than Good

    A new study from researchers at the University of Michigan School of Social Work is the largest to date to examine associations between parental spanking and child well-being. The results of this study suggest that the use of spanking is detrimental to children across cultural contexts. Specifically, this study used data from 62 countries, representing nearly one-third of the world’s countries, and demonstrated that caregivers’ reports of spanking of children in the household were associated with lower socioemotional development of 3- and 4-year-old children. "Spanking may do more harm than good," said Garrett Pace, the study's lead author and a doctoral student of social work and sociology. 

    The results of this study suggest that bans are warranted and likely benefit child well-being in the long term. In addition, caregivers can be supported in their efforts to change parenting behaviors through culturally competent parent education as well as the use of evidence-based practices that promote alternatives to physical punishment.  The study was published in Child Abuse and Neglect The International Journal. Additional authors include Associate Professors Andrew Grogan-Kaylor and Shawna Lee.

  2. William Elliott III
    Brookings Report Advocates for Children's Savings Accounts

    William Elliott III, Social Work Professor and Director of the Center on Assets, Education, and Inclusion research on Children’s Savings Accounts is highlighted in a new Brookings Institute report, “Four policies to help the middle class, and how to pay for them”.  

    Elliott is a leading researcher in the fields of college savings accounts, college debt and wealth inequality. Elliott’s research challenges individual beliefs and cultural values that surround funding for college, student debt, inequality, systemic patterns of poverty and educational justice

  3. Todd I. Herrenkohl
    Todd Herrenkohl Appointed to the Board of Scientifc Counselors for the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

    Todd Herrenkohl, Marion Elizabeth Blue Professor of Child and Family was recently appointed by Alex Azar, the Secretary of Health and Human Services to the Board of Scientific Counselors for the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The Board advises and makes recommendations to the Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services; the Director, Center for Disease Control and Prevention; and the Director, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control regarding surveillance, basic epidemiologic research, intervention research and implementation, dissemination and evaluation of promising and evidence-based strategies for the prevention of injury and violence.

  4. Andrew C. Grogan-Kaylor
    New York Times Cites Andrew Grogan-Kaylor’s Spanking Meta-analyses

    The New York Times features the American Academy of Pediatrics new most strongly worded policy statement against spanking children. The latest statement stems from a body of research including Associate Professor Andrew Grogan-Kaylor's "Spanking and child outcomes: Old controversies and new meta-analyses".

    • November 8, 2018
  5. Daphne C. Watkins
    Daphne Watkins Discusses Hip-Hop's Complicated Mental Health Complex with XXL Magazine

    Associate Professor Daphne Watkins discusses her research on black men and boys and the YBMen Project with XXL Magazine. The feature explores hip-hop's complicated relationship with mental health and how a new crop of rappers are bringing the conversation to the forefront.

  6. Huiyun Kim
    Huiyun Kim Defends Dissertation Entitled "Housing Insecurity and Low-Income Housing Policy in the United States"

    Huiyun Kim successfully defended his dissertation entitled "Housing Insecurity and Low-Income Housing Policy in the United States". His committee consisted of Kristin Seefeldt, Sarah Burgard (co-chairs), Richard Tolman and Rachel Best.
    He has accepted a postdoctoral associate position from Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota.

    • November 6, 2018
  7. Ruth E. Dunkle
    Ruth E. Dunkle to Receive 2018 Career Achievement Award

    Wilbur J. Cohen Collegiate Professor of Social Work Ruth E. Dunkle will be honored by the Association for Gerontology Education in Social Work with a Career Achievement Award during the Gerontological Society of America Annual Scientific Meeting on November 16, 2018. The award recognizes Dunkle for her outstanding leadership in social work education and aging. 

  8. Shanna Katz Kattari
    Transgender and Non-binary People Face Health Care Discrimination in the US

    Assistant Professor Shanna Kattari shares important research on healthcare discrimination experienced by transgender and non-binary people with The Conversation. Kattari says approximately one-fifth of transgender and non-binary individuals have been denied equal treatment when trying to access doctors or hospitals.

  9. Daphne C. Watkins
    Daphne Watkins Recognized as Outstanding Alumna at Texas A&M University

    Associate Professor Daphne Watkins will be recognized for her professional achievements and college-wide impact at the 2018 Outstanding Alumni Awards Ceremony at Texas A&M University, College of Education and Human Development. The ceremony will be held on Friday, October 26 at the Thomas G. Hildebrand Equine Complex at Texas A&M University.

  10. David Córdova
    A Community-University Approach to Preventing HIV

    Associate Professor David Córdova and his youth advisory board from Hamady High School in Flint presented "A Community-University Approach to Preventing HIV" at the MICHR symposium held in Flint. The presenters were Charmere McCadden, Aliyah Brewton, Amir James and Associate Professor David Córdova.

    • October 16, 2018

Contact Us Press escape to close