Contact My SSW Intranet

Main menu

MSW Program Grants and Scholarships

  1. Greg Harden "Soaring on the Wings of Dreams" Endowed Scholarship Fund

    Preference is for former U-M athletes pursuing an MSW who have demonstrated experience in, or commitment to, working with historically underserved or underprivileged populations and who strive to help people become their best possible selves. Award goes toward tuition & fees.

  2. Gus Harrison Scholarship in Social Work and Public Administration

    This scholarship was established by Dr. John R. Koza in honor of Gus Harrison. It is awarded to a student in social work or public administration who exemplifies the dedication to public service and integrity that has been illustrated by Gus Harrison's service to the State of Michigan Department of Corrections and the Michigan State Lottery. Please note that no separate financial aid application is required.

  3. Havens-Cabin Field Education Fund

    This fund was established by alumnus William Cabin, and Susan Havens Lang. The fund is named in honor of Susan's father, Vern Havens, and William's father, Saul Cabin, who believed a strong work ethic and treating people fairly were the keys to a successful and meaningful life. This fund is for field stipends to support MSW students who have significant financial need, and whose field placement are in southeast Michigan. Please note that no separate financial aid application is required.

  4. Health Professional Scholarship Program (HPSP), U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs


    The Health Professional Scholarship Program (HPSP) provides financial assistance to students receiving education or training in a direct or indirect health-care services discipline (MSW students eligible for FY2022).

    Health Professional Scholarship Program (HPSP)

  5. Health Professions Scholarship-Indian Health Service


    The Health Professions Scholarship is awarded to qualified American Indian and Alaska Native graduate level students.

    Health Professions Scholarship-Indian Health Service

  6. Hispanic Scholarship Fund


    The Hispanic Scholarship is designed to assist students of Hispanic heritage obtain a college degree.

    Hispanic Scholarship Fund

  7. Howard and Judith Sims Endowed Fellowship in Child & Youth

    This fellowship was established by Howard and Judith Sims along with matching funds provided by the Ann and Robert Lurie Family Foundation to reward deserving students interested in child welfare and specializing in children and families.

    Please note that no separate financial aid application is required.

  8. Howard Brabson Scholarship

    This MSW Scholarship was established by donors in memory of Howard Brabson in recognition for his leadership, service and commitment to his students. Please note that no separate financial aid application is required.

  9. Japanese American Citizens League National Scholarships and Awards


    The Japanese American Citizens League National Scholarships and Awards are provided to an active National Japanese American Citizens League members pursuing full time study.

    Japanese American Citizens League National Scholarships and Awards

  10. Jewish Communal Leadership Program

    Application Deadlines:

    • Early Application: December 1
    • Priority Application: February 1
    • Final: March 1

    The Jewish Communal Leadership Program, offered by the University of Michigan School of Social Work in partnership with the Jean and Samuel Frankel Center for Judaic Studies, presents a distinctive educational opportunity for MSW students committed to helping Jewish communities meet 21st-century challenges while also addressing broader social concerns. Students combine study of community systems, theories of social change, and Jewish history and community, with training and experience in community organizing, non-profit management, dialogue facilitation, and coalition building within and across groups.

    Approximately six incoming On-Campus MSW students will be selected to participate in the program each year. JCLP graduates currently serve in Jewish and nonsectarian organizations across the United States and abroad. Alumni are employed as chief executives, program developers, fundraising professionals, therapists, community outreach directors, and educators.

    Jewish Communal Leadership Program and Application Information

Contact Us Press escape to close