Contact My SSW Intranet

Main menu

School of Social Work News

  1. Ruth E. Dunkle
    Ruth E. Dunkle to Receive 2018 Career Achievement Award

    Wilbur J. Cohen Collegiate Professor of Social Work Ruth E. Dunkle will be honored by the Association for Gerontology Education in Social Work with a Career Achievement Award during the Gerontological Society of America Annual Scientific Meeting on November 16, 2018. The award recognizes Dunkle for her outstanding leadership in social work education and aging. 

  2. David Córdova
    A Community-University Approach to Preventing HIV

    Associate Professor David Córdova and his youth advisory board from Hamady High School in Flint presented "A Community-University Approach to Preventing HIV" at the MICHR symposium held in Flint. The presenters were Charmere McCadden, Aliyah Brewton, Amir James and Associate Professor David Córdova.

    • October 16, 2018
  3. Daphne C. Watkins
    Daphne Watkins Appointed to the Movember Foundation Global Men’s Health Advisory Committee

    Associate Professor Daphne Watkins has been appointed to the Movember Foundation Global Men’s Health Advisory Committee. The Movember Foundation is the only charity tackling men’s health on a global scale. Since 2003, the Movember Foundation has provided over $850 million in funding toward more than 1,200 health projects in 21 countries. Movember invests in programs that focus on men’s mental health and suicide prevention, prostate cancer, and testicular cancer.

  4. Matthew Bakko
    Matthew Bakko Selected for Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Health Policy Research Scholars Program

    Matthew Bakko, Joint PhD student in Social Work and Sociology has been selected for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Health Policy Research Scholars program.

    The program supports and connects emerging scholars who are committed to bringing about meaningful change and building a national Culture of Health. Participants build the interdisciplinary skills and relationships necessary to extend their influence and impact, break down silos, address health disparities, and make our communities healthier.

    His research will explore how new philanthropic and service delivery models and tools reconfigure organizations, engage with diverse communities, alter power dynamics and blur sector boundaries to affect the capacity building and social change process.

    The Robert Woods Johnson Health Policy Research Scholars program supports underrepresented scholars, including first-generation, low-income background and students of color.

    Assistant Professor Shanna Kattari is Bakko's Institutional Mentor for the Healthy Policy Research Scholars Program.

    From Foster Care to Fulfillment: Blavin Scholars Program at the University of Michigan Gives Hope, Guidance and College Degrees to Foster Care Students

    Cherish Fields, MSW '11 and a Blavin Scholar graduate, Miriam Connolly MSW '04 and director of the Blavin Scholar Program and Professor Joe Ryan highlight the importance of the Blavin Scholars program.
    “The Blavin program is an innovative approach to helping young adults reach their full potential,” Professor Joe Ryan and co-director of the Child & Adolescent Data Lab.

  6. H. Luke  Shaefer
    Luke Shaefer Receives U-M Faculty Recognition Award

    Associate Professor Luke Shaefer will receive a Faculty Recognition Award on October 3 from the University of Michigan. Bestowed every fall by the Rackham Graduate School, the Faculty Recognition Award recognizes mid-career faculty who have made remarkable contributions to the University through scholarly research; excellence as teachers, advisors and mentors; and distinguished service.

    Poverty Solutions and Luke Shaefer Partner with Harvard to Reduce Poverty in Detroit

    The University of Michigan and Harvard University are forming a partnership to spur economic mobility and reduce poverty in Detroit. The Equality of Opportunity Project — led by Harvard faculty members Raj Chetty and Nathaniel Hendren and Brown University’s John Friedman — will work with U-M’s Poverty Solutions initiative, led by Associate Professor and Poverty Solutions Director, Luke Shaefer.

  8. Pinghui WuH. Luke  ShaeferMichael Evangelist
    Pinghui Wu, Luke Shaefer, and Michael Evangelist Receive Award from Rackham Graduate School

    Pinghui Wu, PhD candidate, Professor Luke Shaefer and Michael Evangelist, PhD Candidate, received an award from Rackham Graduate School for their project on state Unemployment Insurance (UI) policies and the mental health unemployed workers.

    • April 19, 2018
  9. Adrienne L. Lapidos
    Adrienne Lapidos Team Received Funding from the National Institute of Mental Health

    Assistant Research Scientist Adrienne Lapidos is on a team that received funding from the National Institute of Mental Health for her project “Effectiveness and Implementation of a Peer Mentorship Intervention (PREVAIL) to Reduce Suicide Attempts Among High-Risk Adults” to determine the effectiveness of a peer mentorship intervention for reducing suicide attempts and suicidal ideation among recently hospitalized adult psychiatric patients at high risk for suicide.

    • March 27, 2018
  10. Edith C. Kieffer
    Edie Kieffer Appointed Co-investigator on CMS Award

    Professor Edith C. Kieffer, MPH, Ph.D., is a co-investigator on an award from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) via the Michigan Department of Health & Human Services for ​the evaluation of the Healthy Michigan Plan (HMP), Michigan's Medicaid expansion program under the Affordable Care Act.

    • March 27, 2018

Contact Us Press escape to close