Learning and Teaching During COVID-19

Contact My SSW Intranet Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion News

  1. Shanna Katz KattariLeonardo Kattari
    Shanna Kattari and Leonardo Kattari Awarded Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity and Expression Scholarship Award at CSWE

    Assistant Professor Shanna Kattari and Lecturer Leonardo Kattari were awarded the Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity and Expression Scholarship Award at the Council on Social Work Education annual meeting, as co-authors on the paper “Differential Experiences of Dating Violence and Sexual Violence Among Trans/Gender Diverse Youths.” The award recognizes scholarship that contributes to knowledge about sexual orientation and gender identity and expression; the individual and systemic issues associated with these topics; the development of social work curriculum materials and faculty growth opportunities relevant to sexual orientation and gender identity and expression; and the experiences of individuals who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and/or two-spirit.

    Catie Bargerstock Receives NASW-MI’s 2021 MSW Student Leadership in Diversity Scholarship

    MSW student Catie Bargerstock is the recipient of the 2021 MSW Student Leadership in Diversity Scholarship from the Michigan Chapter of the National Association of Social Worker (NASW). Bargerstock will be honored at NASW- Michigan’s virtual Legislative, Education & Advocacy Day on October 28.

  3. Rogério Meireles PintoDaicia R. Price
    Rogério M. Pinto and Daicia Price Receive Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award

    Professor and Associate Dean of Research and Innovation Rogério M. Pinto and Clinical Assistant Professor Daicia Price have received the 2021 Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award.

    The award recognizes U-M faculty whose service goes above and beyond their regular duties and contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community. 

    QAC Addresses Anti-Trans Legislation on Transgender Day of Visibility

    Hey SSW,

    As many of you may or may not have seen, this week Arkansas passed a law banning health care providers from providing trans youth with access to healthcare. Along with Arkansas, there are similar bills being introduced in several states across the country including Michigan. Many are attacking the ability of trans youth to participate in sports, others are attacking access to healthcare and the ability of transgender people to participate in public life.


    This is a direct attack on the trans community. As social workers, we must make a commitment to organize in order to ensure that transgender youth have life-saving medical care by any means necessary. 

    Now more than ever, cis people must stand up for the rights and dignity of their transgender peers. The solution is and must be intersectional solidarity, advocacy, and mutual aid. The trans community must not face these attacks alone.

    On this Trans Day of Visibility, we are asking everyone to make at least ONE call to either the Governor of Arkansas or to an Arkansas State Senator to call for an end to this inhumane legislation.

    To view the anti-transgender legislation in other states, see the following links. It is vital we stay up to date and advocate alongside our trans friends and colleagues. 

    Finally, if you or a loved one are in need of resources, several are included below:

    • National Suicide Prevention Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
    • Trevor Project LGBTQ+ Hotline: 1-866-488-7386
    • CAPS After Hours: 734-764-8312
    • The UM Psychiatric Emergency Services (PES): 734-936-5900

    In Solidarity,

    Queer Advocacy Coalition

    • March 31, 2021
  5. Ayesha Ghazi Edwin
    Aysha Ghazi Edwin on Asian American/Pacific Islander Women’s Equal Pay in Detroit News

    Lecturer Ayesha Ghazi Edwin’s letter to the editor “Race and ethnicity shouldn’t determine women’s pay” was published in the Detroit News. Edwin discusses Asian American/Pacific Islander women’s Equal Pay Day writing “If we are to close the pay gap, we need to strengthen equal pay laws to allow women to discover and fight against pay discrimination.”

  6. Rogério Meireles Pinto
    Rogério M. Pinto Named Educator of the Month by CSWE’s Diversity Center

    Professor Rogério M. Pinto is the Council on Social Work Education Diversity Center’s Educator of the Month. The accompanying article discusses his scholarly approach to incorporating arts into his research as well as his work advancing intersectionality and championing diversity. The profile also covers  the online COVID and Racial Inequalities Forum series Pinto hosted last summer, and links to his presentation “Diversity Matters: What About Equity & Inclusion?”

    Funds Available to Support Student Projects for Anti-Racism Work

    The School of Social Work invites grant applications from MSW and PhD students to support individual student projects for anti-racism work, with a specific focus on confronting anti-Blackness, racism against Indigenous peoples and confronting white supremacy. The goal is to inclusively support students working within SSW or in communities seeking to confront racism to the greatest degree possible. 

  8. Sandra L. Momper
    Sandra Momper Appointed to U-M Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative

    Associate Professor Sandra Momper has been appointed by Provost Susan Collins to the U-M’s Anti-Racism Faculty Hiring Initiative. The initiative, a component of the university’s multifaceted approach to addressing systemic racism, will bring over 20 new scholars with expertise in racial inequality and structural racism to schools and colleges across campus over three years. Members will review hiring proposals and make selections for funding for the first round of tenure track hires in January 2021.

    In addition, she recently was appointed by Dilip Das, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, U-M Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion to the Indigenous Leadership Group.

  9. Ayesha Ghazi Edwin
    Ayesha Ghazi-Edwin Receives a Certificate of Appreciation from the James T. Neubacher Awards Committee

    ENGAGE Program Director and Lecturer Ayesha Ghazi-Edwin received a Certificate of Appreciation from the James T. Neubacher Awards Committee, a unit of the U-M Council for Disability Concerns. The certificate is in acknowledgment of her efforts to advance the cause of accessibility and justice for the disability community.  In addition to her work at the school, Ghazi-Edwin is also the Fund Development and Research Specialist at Detroit Disability Power, a disability justice nonprofit organization in Detroit.  She also serves on the Michigan Social Work's Inclusion and Access Taskforce. 

    Established by the university’s Council for Disability Concerns in October 1990, the award is a memorial to James T. Neubacher, a university alumnus and columnist for the Detroit Free Press who advocated for equal rights and opportunities for people with disabilities.

    Natasha Johnson, PhD ‘20 Receives a Racial Injustice Award From the U-M Depression Center

    Natasha Johnson, PhD ‘20, has received a $5,000 Racial Injustice Award From the U-M Depression Center for her research on racism awareness among Black youths. Her research has the potential to provide empirical support for intervention programs aimed at combating racism by developing a psychometric tool that will evaluate resilient pathways for racially marginalized youth.

Contact Us Press escape to close