Contact My SSW Intranet Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

Rogério M. Pinto and Daicia Price Receive Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award

June 2, 2021

Professor and Associate Dean of Research and Innovation Rogério M. Pinto and Clinical Assistant Professor Daicia Price have received the 2021 Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award.

The award recognizes U-M faculty whose service goes above and beyond their regular duties and contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community. 

The award was established in 1996 in honor of Harold Johnson, dean emeritus of the School of Social Work. Johnson was dean from 1981-93 and has a distinguished history of scholarship and service. Pinto and Price join the ranks of more than a dozen School of Social Work faculty honored with the award since its inception.

“I am proud to be involved in several initiatives to diversify—in terms of race, ethnicity, gender, intellectual background and endeavors and more—across the University of Michigan campus and beyond. I am fully engaged in creating strategies for including underrepresented racial, ethnic, gender and sexual and other minorities who may have been excluded from leadership roles at the university and in other spaces, and for making these spaces more inclusive. We are gaining ground,” said Pinto.

“I am more than honored to be the recipient of this award as my lifelong commitment is to reach out, raise hope, and create change,” said Price. “I am active in three scholarship programs that focus on service delivery in a culturally responsive way that utilizes inclusive teaching strategies. I have been a leader in the Undoing Racism Workgroup that seeks to dismantle racism in the School by building community with faculty, staff, students, alumni and community partners. I mentor and support students and alumni of diverse backgrounds in reaching their desired goals in various settings of social work at the micro, mezzo and macro level. As a community member, I offer service to support law enforcement, first responders, community mental health organizations, social service organizations and companies to increase their capacity of being inclusive and equitable.”

Past School of Social Work Recipients

2018 - Robert Joseph Taylor
2015 - Linda Chatters & Sandra Momper
2013 - Letha Chadiha
2008 - Paul Allen-Meares
2006 - Larry Gant & Mieko Yoshihama
2003 - Michael Spencer
2001 - Kristine Siefert
1997 - Robert Ortega & Beth Glover Reed

Read more about this year’s recipients »

Contact Us Press escape to close