Contact My SSW Intranet Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

Joseph Himle and Todd Herrenkohl Named Fellows of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare

Fellow status is among the highest professional accolade bestowed to social work scholars

Joseph Himle, associate dean for faculty affairs and Howard V. Brabson Collegiate Professor of Social Work, and Todd Herrenkohl, Marion Elizabeth Blue Professor of Children and Families, were named fellows of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (AASWSW). The AASWSW confers the honor on candidates for their distinguished accomplishments as scholars and practitioners dedicated to achieving excellence in high-impact work that advances social good. Newly elected fellows will be inducted into the Academy during a ceremony on January 17, 2020, at the Society for Social Work and Research’s annual conference in Washington D.C.“I am delighted to be adding this group to the Academy. It will broaden our expertise for future activities,” said AASWSW President Sarah Gehlert, dean of the University of South Carolina’s College of Social Work.Election of fellows into the AASWSW is by confidential nomination and confirmation by a supermajority of Academy members. The Academy’s mission is to encourage, recognize and celebrate outstanding research, scholarship and practice that contribute to a sustainable and equitable future. The Academy aims to represent the social work profession to influence social policy as well as Congress and other governmental and non-government entities.

The AASWSW comprises 129 Fellows from more than 38 universities. Michigan Social Work now has 11 Academy members.

Paula Allen-Meares, PhD (2009)

Linda M. Chatters, PhD (2017)

Ruth Dunkle, PhD (2012)

Lorraine Gutierrez, PhD (2016)

Joseph Himle, PhD (2020)

Todd Herrenkohl, PhD (2020)

Rosemary Conzemius Sarri, PhD (2010)

Robert Joseph Taylor, PhD (2017)

Richard Tolman, PhD (2017)

John Tropman, PhD (2014)

Lynn Videka, PhD (2019)

Contact Us Press escape to close