Reentry and COVID-19 Information

Contact My SSW Report Sexual Misconduct

Main menu

  1. H. Luke  Shaefer
    Luke Shaefer Named 2020 Andrew Carnegie Fellow

    Professor Luke Shaefer has been named a 2020 Andrew Carnegie Fellow.  The two-year award provides $200,000 in support of his project, “Deepening Our Understanding of America's Most Vulnerable Communities.”  Shaefer is also the Hermann and Amalie Kohn Professor of Social Justice and Social Policy at the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, and the director of U-M’s Poverty Solutions. 

    The Andrew Carnegie Fellows Program was established in 2015 and provides philanthropic support for high-caliber scholarly research in the humanities and social sciences that addresses important and enduring issues confronting our society.  Shaefer is one of 27 fellows named to the 2020 class. The criteria prioritize the originality and potential impact of a proposal, as well as a scholar’s capacity to communicate the findings with a broad audience.

    “I am deeply honored to be named one of the Carnegie Fellows,” says Shaefer. “The fellowship will help me and my collaborators immensely in our work to more deeply understand disadvantage in this country and help direct resources and action to where they’re needed most.”

  2. David Córdova
    David Córdova Selected for Emerging Adulthood Editorial Board

    Associate Professor David Córdova was selected to serve on the editorial board of Emerging Adulthood, an interdisciplinary and international journal focusing on advancements in theory, methodology and empirical research in transition-age youth.

  3. Kristin S. Seefeldt
    Kristin Seefeldt and U-M Poverty Solutions Identify Michigan Areas in Need

    Associate Professor and Associate Director for Poverty Solutions Kristin Seefeldt spoke with mid-Michigan station WLNS about Poverty Solution’s latest research. The Michigan Poverty and Well-Being Map show that even before the economic repercussions of the COVID-19 pandemic began, about 14% of Michiganders were living in poverty and another 29% of households were struggling to make ends meet. “We really wanted to do work that was meaningful to the communities around the state, so that we can provide information, and potential solutions to some of the challenges that many of these families are facing,” said Seefeldt.

  4. Janelle R. Goodwill
    Janelle Goodwill Defends Dissertation

    Janelle Goodwill, Joint PhD student in Social Work and Psychology, successfully defended her dissertation "A multi-method analysis of stigma, social support, and suicide ideation among Black college students." Her committee consisted of Daphne Watkins, Jacqueline Mattis (co-chairs), Robert J. Taylor and Myles Durkee.

    • May 7, 2020
  5. Lynn Videka
    Preparing for Fall Semester 2020

    Dean Lynn Videka has been named a chair of the U-M Provost’s Fall 2020 Planning Initiative. She is a member of the overall Fall 2020 Coordinating Committee and is chairing the Curricular Support, Extra and Co-curricular Activities, and Engaged Learning Committee.  Videka’s committee is part of a larger, coordinating committee chaired by Interim Provost Susan Collins, which is exploring ways the university can move forward with research, teaching and service during the pandemic.  Videka’s committee will focus on ensuring equitable access to key academic resources and developing guidelines to support and enhance U-M undergraduate and graduate education in fall 2020.

  6. Todd I. Herrenkohl
    Todd Herrenkohl Appointed Editor in Chief of the Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research

    Todd I. Herrenkohl the Marion Elizabeth Blue Professor of Children and Families is the editor in chief of the Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research (JSSWR). The journal is a peer-reviewed publication dedicated to presenting innovative, rigorous original research on social problems, intervention programs, and policies. “We are excited to welcome Dr. Herrenkohl as JSSWR’s editor-in-chief,” says Luis H. Zayas, president of the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR) Board of Directors. “I’m certain that Todd will continue the journal’s upward trajectory and legacy of excellence, bringing new ideas to further advance social work research, knowledge, and impact." Herrenkohl will serve a 5-year term, 2020–2025, during which time he also will head the JSSWR Editorial Board and serve as a member of the SSWR Committee on Publications.

    Julie Cushman Selected as the Recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Lecturer Award

    LEO Lecturer Julie Cushman has been selected as the recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Lecturer Award. For over twenty years, her exceptional dedication and commitment to social work values have made a positive impact on both the education of students and the climate of the School.

    Cushman has taught a wide variety of classes and developed innovative ways to support student growth with opportunities outside the classroom. Most notably, she worked over many years with students to develop an experiential learning game, “Power: A Game of Positionality and Intersectionality.” Designed to teach complex adaptive change theory and intersectionality, the game is used in several courses at the School as well as at the U-M School of Public Health.


    • May 4, 2020
  8. Shawna J. Lee
    The Stress of Parenting During a Pandemic

    Associate Professor Shawna Lee, author of a recent study on the stress of parenting amid this crisis talks with Tonya Mosley from Here & Now a National Public Radio live midday news program. 

  9. Rogério Meireles PintoSunggeun (Ethan) Park
    COVID-19 Pandemic Disrupts HIV Continuum of Care and Prevention

    Professor Rogério M Pinto and Assistant Professor Sunggeun (Ethan) Park assess how the COVID-19 pandemic is disrupting HIV care and prevention including testing, pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) and primary care visits. Their new research lays out a plan of action to move through the pandemic, as well as the end of the HIV epidemic, in this decade.

  10. Beth A. Sherman
    Beth Sherman 2020 Teacher of the Year

    Clinical Associate Professor Beth Sherman was selected as the 2020 Student Union Teacher of the Year.  Each year, the Student Union recognizes a professor at the School whose skills, dedication, understanding and commitment have made a positive impact on the lives of students. Nominations from students also consider service and contribution to the School’s climate.

    “Over the years I have been incredibly honored to be a part of the University of Michigan School of Social Work community, helping to support our students on their paths to becoming kind, strong, social justice seeking, and capable social workers. In the current uncertainty, to have my efforts appreciated by the ones who matter most to me, means everything,” says Sherman. 

Contact Us Press escape to close