Main menu


  1. Beth Spencer Beth Spencer Represents Social Work in Collaborative Award-Winning Program in Memory, Aging and Expressive Arts

    LEO Lecturer Beth Spencer is participating in Memory, Aging and Expressive Arts, a collaborative program between, the Stamps School of Art and Design, SSW and the Silver Club Memory Programs. The program won a national competition that recognizes outstanding programs helping Alzheimer’s families and caregivers.

    The program won in the category of Creative Expression and will receive their award at a celebratory reception during the annual “Aging in America” Conference to be held on March 22 in Washington, DC.

    • February 4, 2016
  2. David Córdova David Córdova Receives Grant from National Institute of Mental Health for Interventions on Drug Use and HIV/STI Risk Behaviors

    Assistant Professor David Córdova received a grant from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) via the University of California San Francisco to carry out interventions focused on drug use and HIV risk behaviors in the primary care clinic setting.


    • February 4, 2016
  3. Edith C. Kieffer Edie Kieffer Receives Grant from Michigan Health Endowment Fund for The Michigan Community Health Worker Alliance

    Professor Edie Kieffer received a grant from the Michigan Health Endowment Fund via the Michigan Primary Care Association to continue her initiative, “The Michigan Community Health Worker Alliance” in order to evaluate several components of Linking Clinical Care with Community Supports, a statewide project that integrates Community Health Workers into patient care teams at community health centers.


  4. Shari L. Robinson-Lynk Shari Robinson-Lynk Accepts Appointment at Simmons College School of Social Work

    Shari Robinson-Lynk, an Adjunct Lecturer with the School of Social Work since the fall of 2012 and the 2014-2015 Professor of the Year by the SSW Student Union, has accepted the position of Professor of Practice with the School of Social Work at Simmons College in Boston. Simmons College is the nation's oldest School of Social Work.

    Shari is expecting to lead the race and oppression curriculum for the new synchronous MSW program, among other responsibilities such as serving as the course lead for the major around health and aging and the community organizing/activism minor as well as assisting with the organizing of black students.

    Shari's last day in Ann Arbor will be towards the end of April as she has a May 16 start date.


    • January 19, 2016
  5. Fill-A-Truck for Flint

    In response to the Flint water crisis, there will be a collection of water bottles, cases, and jugs to be delivered to the Food Bank of Eastern Michigan in Flint. Drop:

    Collections are now through January 22.

    • January 18, 2016
  6. Katherine E. Richards-SchusterBarry N. Checkoway Katie Richards-Schuster and Barry Checkoway and The YOUth Voice for Social Justice Project Featured on Detroit Public Television

    Assistant Professor Katie Richards-Schuster and Professor Barry Checkoway are featured in the special "Building Youth Leadership in Southeast Michigan" which airs Monday, 1/18 at 7:30 pm on Detroit Public Television. The program brings together students & educators for a special panel on the emergence of youth voices. 


  7. Alice Mishkin Alice Mishkin Receives Grant from U-M Center for Global and Intercultural Study for Palestine and Israel Trip

    CASC Program Coordinator and LEO Adjunct Lecturer Alice Mishkin received a grant from the U-M Center for Global and Intercultural Study. She will spend three weeks in Palestine and Israel learning about different models of activism and the role of memory and trauma in the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.


  8. Elizabeth M. Rhodes Elizabeth Rhodes Defends Dissertation, "The Micro-Dynamics of Health and Education Provision in the Slums of Nairobi"

    Elizabeth Rhodes successfully defended her dissertation entitled, “The Micro-Dynamics of Health and Education Provision in the Slums of Nairobi” and obtained her PhD in Social Work and Political Science. Her committee consisted of Trina Shanks, Anne Pitcher (co-chairs), Luke Shaefer and Pauline Luong.


    • January 13, 2016
  9. Heidi Marlena Hanlon (MSW'17), Selin Nurgun (MSW'17) and Missy Orr (MSW'16) Selected as 2016 Dow Sustainability Fellows Heidi Marlena Hanlon (MSW'17), Selin Nurgun (MSW'17) and Missy Orr (MSW'16) Selected as 2016 Dow Sustainability Fellows

    Heidi Marlena Hanlon (MSW'17), Selin Nurgun (MSW'17) and Missy Orr (MSW'16) were selected as 2016 Dow Sustainability Fellows. The Dow Sustainability Fellows Program at U-M supports full-time graduate students who are committed to finding interdisciplinary, actionable and meaningful sustainability solutions on local-to-global scales.

  10. Lydia W. Li Lydia Li Named Program Co-Chair of 2016 Meeting of Gerontological Society of America

    Associate Professor Lydia Li is the program co-chair of the 2016 meeting of the Gerontological Society of America (GSA).


Contact Us Press escape to close