Main menu

Sexuality Counseling & Sexuality Education

The dual track certification in Sexuality Counseling & Sexuality Education is designed for professionals who anticipate applying both counseling and educator skills to their work with patients, students, residents, and fellows. Professionals who work in health care settings find they use the teaching either with individual patients or with patient groups, but in their work educating new professionals and staff. In some cases, this has led to a new position within a hospital or clinic or the opportunity to present at conferences or serve on patient-focused boards in their community. Throughout the program you will:

  • attend 13 classes
    • 3 four-day sessions at the University of Michigan School of Social Work
    • 2 two-day sessions at the University of Michigan School of Social Work
  • 5 classes offered in distance/synchronous web-based learning
  • have the opportunity to earn 195 ACE (social work) CEUs, 195 CMEs, and 195 AASECT CEUs

Application & Fees

Sexuality counselor and sexuality educator - $5900.00

Registration is now open for the 2018 cohort, beginning April 20, 2018.

Register now ยป

Dates Event Time Location Name of Course Instructors
Friday, April 20, 2018 Orientation 1:00pm to 4:00pm U-M Campus Orientation  
Friday, April 20, 2018 Plenary 4:00pm to 5:30pm U-M Campus Annual Plenary Sallie M. Foley
Saturday, April 21, 2018 SAR 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Sexual Attitude Reassessment Claudia K. Piper and Valerie Wood
Sunday, April 22, 2018 SAR 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Sexual Attitude Reassessment Claudia K. Piper and Valerie Wood
Monday, April 23, 2018 CSHE6 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Gender and Sexual Orientation Joseph H. Kort and Eli Green
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 CSHE6 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Gender and Sexual Orientation Joseph H. Kort and Eli Green
Saturday, May 5, 2018 CSHE1 8:00am to 5:30pm Online Introduction to Sexual Health - Cultural and Biological Underpinnings Prem K. Pahwa
Sunday, May 6, 2018 CSHE1 8:00am to 4:30pm Online Introduction to Sexual Health - Cultural and Biological Underpinnings Phillis C. Mims-Gillum and Todd O. Malloy
Saturday, June 2, 2018 CSHE2 8:00am to 5:30pm Online Medical and Developmental Aspects of Sexual Health - A Biopsychosocial Perspective Doug Braun-Harvey
Sunday, June 3, 2018 CSHE2 8:00am to 4:30pm Online Medical and Developmental Aspects of Sexual Health - A Biopsychosocial Perspective Doug Braun-Harvey
Saturday, September 15, 2018 CSHE3 8:00am to 5:30pm Online Sexual Health Problems Kathryn S. Hall
Sunday, September 16, 2018 CSHE3 8:00am to 4:30pm Online Sexual Health Problems Kathryn S. Hall
Saturday, September 29, 2018 ATSCT1 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Techniques of Sex-Related Assessment, Dx, and Tx of Psychosexual Disorders Phillis C. Mims-Gillum and Ruth S. Koelling
Sunday, September 30, 2018 ATSCT1 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Techniques of Sex-Related Assessment, Dx, and Tx of Psychosexual Disorders Phillis C. Mims-Gillum and Ruth S. Koelling
Monday, October 1, 2018 ATSE1 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Curriculum Design Part 1 Logan Levkoff Cortes
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 ATSE1 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Curriculum Design Part 1 Logan Levkoff Cortes
Thursday, November 8, 2018 ATSE2 Day 1 (Session A*) 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Curriculum Design Part 2 Session A* Logan Levkoff Cortes
Friday, November 9, 2018 ATSE2 Day 2 (Session A*) 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Curriculum Design Part 2 Session A* Logan Levkoff Cortes
Saturday, November 10, 2018 ATSE2 Day 1 (Session B*) 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Curriculum Design Part 2 Session B* Logan Levkoff Cortes
Sunday, November 11, 2018 ATSE2 Day 2 (Session B*) 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Curriculum Design Part 2 Session B* Logan Levkoff Cortes
Saturday, December 1, 2018 ATSCT2 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Theory and Methods of Sex-Related Counseling and Psychotherapy - Counseling Track Phillis C. Mims-Gillum
Sunday, December 2, 2018 ATSCT2 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Theory and Methods of Sex-Related Counseling and Psychotherapy - Counseling Track Phillis C. Mims-Gillum
Saturday, January 12, 2019 CSHE4 8:00am to 5:30pm Online Intimacy and Sexuality in Couples Relationships Prem K. Pahwa
Sunday, January 13, 2019 CSHE4 8:00am to 4:30pm Online Intimacy and Sexuality in Couples Relationships Prem K. Pahwa
Saturday, February 2, 2019 CSHE5 8:00am to 5:30pm Online The Discipline of Sexology Yvonne Kristin Fulbright
Sunday, February 3, 2019 CSHE5 8:00am to 4:30pm Online The Discipline of Sexology Yvonne Kristin Fulbright
Saturday, March 23, 2019 ATSCT3 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Theory/Method of Assessment and Tx of Psychosexual D/O Related to Chronic Illness Barry W. McCarthy
Sunday, March 24, 2019 ATSCT3 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Theory/Method of Assessment and Tx of Psychosexual D/O Related to Chronic Illness Uchenna Ossai and Lisa Chism
Monday, March 25, 2019 ATSC4 8:00am to 5:30pm U-M Campus Advanced Sexuality Counselor Techniques Nisha McKenzie
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 ATSC4 8:00am to 4:30pm U-M Campus Advanced Sexuality Counselor Techniques Nisha McKenzie

* Note: Participants will be assigned to attend either Session A or Session B.

Contact Us Press escape to close